irrationally optimistic

I was listening to Naval clubhouse and he shared a really important point – that is when we approach things, rather than looking at the negative, we are should be irrational optimistic about the outcome.

Optimism has no cost. The reason for this because it doesn’t cost you anything to be optimistic, and being pessimistic is a self fulfuling prophecy. On our new ventures we can lose everything (5%) but if it suceeds, it can scale to higher highs (1000%). This is assymetric.

Thinking too much about loss. If i look back at my life, I have been to concerned with the downsides and not enough on the downsides. Thinking in terms of -5% vs 50% really changes the equation, rather than -20% and 0%.

Take a step back and make quick decisions. I grappled this week about whether to approach a girl that i liked. I dwelled on the question for hours, soliciting opinions from friends and working up the courage to ask her out. I now realise that i was trying to say the right thing to decrease the changes of rejection. Strike while the iron is hot. Relating back to optimism, there was absolutely no downside and the upside was that i discover a potential lead.

Change of thinking. My attitude previously was to use a i dont give a fuck (IDGAF) strategy. This required me to disengage my brain and pushed me to get to tipsy before i could enact. I think the new strategy of low downside huge upside allows my brain to rationalise my behaviour.

Leave the the thinking to others and take action Be bold and go for what you desire. Based upon my experiences – I have qualities that are attractive. And i am proposing to others whether this matches with them.

Author: Zhang Eef

Soviet Russia is a hard place. I will teach you thoughts and learning's to survive

Leave a comment