Why did I buy a standing desk

Working from home, I was spending 8hrs hunched over looking at my laptop screen. I thought to myself – this can’t be good for my long term health. And sure enough our sendentary lifestyle is a major cause of disease.

And really, this is all very preventable, if we recognise the problem. That is the screen is not at the right height for us to view due to the portable nature of laptop.

Always Hunching Over? Why Your Posture is Bad? How To Fix ...
Are you sitting at your desk like this?

Standing desk considerations

  • Table depth and width. We think the bigger the better to allow more desktop space and adjustability. However we note that note everyone has alot of space. I recommend at a minimum 1200×600. And this dependent on having the monitor screen on a separate arm. 1200×700 if not.
  • Separate keyboard on mouse. If the time is greater than 2hrs I recommend a portable laptop stand and bluetooth keyboard. This allows you to raise the height of the screen to match your body.
  • Separate monitor. If this is a permenant installation
  • Bias lighting behind the monitor
  • Anti-fatigue matt. Helps to stay on your feet
Standing Desk Starter Guide

As can be seen below the tables are all very similar.

DescriptionPrice (AUD)Table sizeMin-Max HeightMax LoadTable travelFeatures
Omni Desk$6741500x750mm620-1255mm125kg38mm/s3 memory presets
anti collosion
dual motor
Ikea$7291800x750mm645-1275mm125kg38mm/s3 memory presets
dual motor
Artiss$7201524x750mm600-1250130kg43mm/s3 memory presets
anti collision
dual motor

Author: Zhang Eef

Soviet Russia is a hard place. I will teach you thoughts and learning's to survive

Leave a comment